Colorado law : one year or two years to file personal property ? Rob Nevitt asked 1 year ago
Colorado law : one year or two years to file personal property ?

I seem to recall there being a new law in Colorado providing Marshall Fire victims two years to file personal property claims.

On the contrary … my AllState adjuster just told me that I have one year from the 12/30/21 Marshall Fire to file all personal property claims for our partial loss house.

Do I have one year or two years to file all personal property claims?

If there is a Colorado law, could someone please provide me the statute information so I can communicate that information to my AllState adjuster?

1 Answers
Answer for Colorado law : one year or two years to file personal property ? United Policyholders Staff answered 1 year ago

Hi Rob,

Unfortunately your adjuster is correct. Colorado Revised Statutes § 10-4-110.8 (11) (c) (I) and (II) indicate that you have 365 days after a total loss claim to submit your inventory. We have a sample letter that you can use to request a waiver of this requirement, but there is no guarantee your insurer will grant this request: Sample Letter Asking for a Waiver of the Contents Itemization Requirement.

You can review our recent webinar for some advice and resources to help you submit your contents claim: Contents Intensive and Collecting Depreciation. We understand how difficult this task is, and you can look for other resources on our website by entering “contents” in the search box. Best of luck to you.