National Association of Insurance Commissioners Names 2022 Consumer Liaison Representatives

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners issued the following news release:

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 40 consumer liaison representatives for 2022. The 23 funded and 17 unfunded consumer representatives began their terms January 1. Nineteen of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2021.

Established in 1992, the Consumer Liaison Program promotes consumer interaction with the NAIC’s members, the insurance industry and interested parties through individual consumer representative’s dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

“Protecting our consumers is our top priority and that is why we depend so heavily on our consumer liaison representatives to provide our regulators with important and critical feedback,” said Dean L. Cameron, NAIC President and Director of the Idaho Department of Insurance. “The NAIC and the states are always looking out for the best interest of our consumers in all decisions that we make.”

The 2022 Funded Consumer Liaison Representatives
(New funded representatives are noted with an asterisk)

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Kellan Baker: Executive Director and Chief Learning Officer, Whitman-Walker Institute*

Birny Birnbaum: Executive Director, Center for Economic Justice

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Courtney Bullard: Education and Collaborations Director, Utah Health Policy Project

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocates

Tasha Carter: Florida’s Insurance Consumer Advocate, Florida Department of Financial Services, Office of the Insurance Consumer Advocate

Symone N. Crawford: Director of Homeownership Education, Massachusetts Affordable Housing Alliance

Brenda J. Cude: Professor Emeritus, Department of Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics, University of Georgia

Michael DeLong: Research and Advocacy Associate, Consumer Federation of American*

Yosha P. Dotson: Technical and Policy Analyst, Georgians for a Healthy Future

Erica Eversman: President, Automotive Education & Policy Institute

Karrol Kitt: Emeritus Associate Professor, The University of Texas at Austin School of Human Ecology Department of Human Development & Family Sciences

Peter R. Kochenburger: Associate Clinical Professor of Law, Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Maanasa Kona: Assistant Research Professor, Georgetown University Center on Health Insurance Reform*

Natasha Kumar: Policy Analyst, Families USA

Gwendolyn Roberts Majette: Associate Professor of Law, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, The Center for Health Law and Policy

Erin Miller: Vice President, Health Initiatives, Colorado Children’s Campaign

D. Ojeda: Policy Advocate, National Center for Transgender Equality/NCTE Action Fund

Karen Siegel: Director of Policy, Health Equity Solutions

Harold M. Ting: Consumer Advocate Volunteer

Jackson Williams: Director of Government Affairs, Dialysis Patient Citizens

Silvia Yee: Senior Staff Attorney and Analyst, Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund


The 2022 Unfunded Consumer Representatives

New representatives noted with an asterisk.

David Arkush: Director, Climate Program, Public Citizen

Lucy Culp: Executive Director, State Government Affairs, The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Deborah Darcy: Director of Government Relations, American Kidney Fund

Shamus Durac: Senior Attorney, Health Policy Analyst, Rhode Island Parent Information Network*

Eric Ellsworth: Director, Health Data Strategy, Consumers Checkbook/Center for the Study of Services

Kelly Headrick: Senior Director, State Government Affairs and Grassroots Advocacy, Autism Speaks*

Marguerite Herman: Lobbyist, Wyoming High School Mock Trial/Healthy Wyoming

Anna Schwamlein Howard: Principal, Policy Development, Access to and Quality of Care, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Janay Johnson: Policy Analyst, American Heart Association

Katherine (Katie) Keith: Consultant Advisor and Steering Committee Member, Out2Enroll

Kenneth S. Klein: Professor of Law, California Western School of Law

Rachel K. Klein: Deputy Executive Director, National Policy Office, The AIDS Institute

Dorianne Mason: Director of Health Equity, National Women’s Law Center

Colin Reusch: Senior Advisor for Oral Health Policy, Community Catalyst, Inc.*

Carl Schmid: Executive Director, HIV + Hepatitis Policy Institute

Matthew J. Smith: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Tara Straw: Director, Health Insurance and Marketplace Policy, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities*